Send mail to us at:
POB 114
New Smyrna Beach, FL

or Email us:
Click Here


The Little Theatre


Ashley Townsend

Jeff Stanley
Promising Newcomer

Jamie-Lyn Marcos
Best Actress in Comedy

Rose Dingas
Golden Prop

Dr. Dale Lilyfors
Most Improved

Bobbi Clancy
Best Actress in Drama

Jack Cook
Best Actor in Musical

Hal Linn
Golden Whip

Irene Spatz
Cameo Appearance

Aaron Collins
Meanest Character


Mike Knadle and the crew
An Evening At The Hammys: General contractor Mike Knadle (seated) gets the
recognition he deserves from his "construction crew" (Joey Struss, Scott Hazard &
Mike Shea) with MCs Dan Blazi and Jamie-Lyn Marcos.

The 2003-2004 Hammy Awards

Editor, Smyrna Breeze

Joey StrussSaturday, May 15, 2004 - There was glamour, glitz and lots of laughter at the Little Theatre of New Smyrna Beach Saturday night as the end of a successful season was celebrated with the annual "Hammy" Awards.

This fun-filled annual event is held to give recognition and thanks to all the hard-working actors, directors and crews of the season's productions, as well as members and supporters of the theater.
Tess SiconolfiThe evening started with door prize tickets given to each guest as they made their way into the theatre to feast on a scrumptious buffet. Kimla Dodds was in charge of awarding the door prizes that she collected from local merchants. She kept the emcees and audience guessing if she would appear on stage to give out the prizes, or if it would be "Rosie," "Ethel," "Francis" or "Countess Bordoni."

President Dottie Hughes thanked the outgoing executive board members and recognized the committee chairpersons. She was presented an engraved box as a thank you for her four years service as president. She then passed the gavel to Bill Cook.

Edgewater Police Chief Michael Ignasiak swore in the newly elected executive board for the 2004-05 season. They are President Bill Cook, Vice President Ruth StammenAnn Knadle, Secretary Dan Blazi, Treasurer Camille Dickinson, and board members Marge Begy, Irene Spatz, and Rose Dingas.

Rose Dingas and Camille Dickinson shared cochair duties with a Hammy committee made up of Hal Linn, Dan Blazi, Don Campbell, Fritz Begy and Estie Keyes. Dan Blazi and Jamie-Lyn Marcos were co-hosts for the evening's festivities with Tylyn Coolbeth as the Trophy Girl.

Dan and Jamie-Lyn recognized the people (and businesses) that volunteered on extra shows and outside events to benefit the Little Theatre. Scott Hazard, Joey Struss and Mike Shea did short skits of Dan Blazieach of the 2003-04 season plays, followed by recognition of the directors, with those present going on stage to receive their awards.

They are, Ree Ann Naylor for Don't Drink the Water, Jenny Sejansky for No Sex Please, We're British, Jane Taylor for I'll Be Back Before Midnight, LaVerda Felton for The Best Christmas Pageant Ever, Nancy McCormick for Opal's Million Dollar Duck, Frances Johnson for the musical I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change, Shelly Wawrzonek for Painting Churches, and Lawrence Benjamin for Moon Over Buffalo.

A special Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Camille Dickinson, and she was made a Life Member of the Little Theatre.

Greg HarrisActors and crew receiving Hammy Awards Saturday night are: Best Costume Design, Ruth Stammen for the Cyrano costume in Moon Over Buffalo
Golden Prop, Rose Dingas for the painting of the Churches in Painting Churches
Lights/Sound, Greg Harris for No Sex Please, We're British, Opal's Million Dollar Duck, and I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change
Golden Whip (Best Stage Manager), Hal Linn for No Sex Please, We're British, I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change and Moon Over Buffalo
Set Design, Bill Roehrborn for Moon Over Buffalo
Set Decoration, Ann Knadle for Don't Drink the Water
Mike LaCroixSex Pot, Ashley Townsend for I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change
Accent/Dialect, Dustin Gillis for No Sex Please, We're British
Promising New Comer, Jeff Stanley for Moon Over Buffalo
Most Improved Actor, Dr. Dale Lilyfors for Moon Over Buffalo
Meanest Character, Aaron Collins for I'll Be Back Before Midnight
Best in a Small Role, George Hale for I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change
Cameo Appearance, Irene Spatz for Don't Drink the Water
Best Supporting Actor, Joey Struss for No Sex Please, We're British
Best Supporting Actress, Tess Siconolfi for Opal's Million Dollar Duck
Ann KnadleMost Versatile, Debbie Dinkins (no particular play)
Best Actress in a Musical, Courtney Falk for I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change
Best Actor in a Musical, Jack Cook for I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change
Best Actor in Comedy, Dan Blazi for Moon Over Buffalo
Best Actress in Comedy, Jamie-Lyn Markos for No Sex Please, We're British
Best Actress in Drama, Bobbi Clancy for Painting Churches
Best Actor in Drama, Mike LaCroix for Painting Churches
The evening concluded with the Hammy committee members and helpers taking a bow on stage, with Scott Hazard coming on as Old Theatre 2004 season and Dan Blazi coming on, complete with cap and diaper, as Little Theatre 2005, to the delight of the audience.

For further information about the Little Theatre, call 423-1246.

Sandi Carroll is Editor of the Smyrna Breeze. She may be reached at 427-1000, ext. 234 or at

click here for more photos of the 2004 Hammy Awards


Copyright 2004 the Little Theatre of New Smyrna Beach, Inc.